Ciao fellow wanderlusters, photography buffs, family and friends!

I’m officially back online and super excited to share with you all of my tropical misadventures in Port Douglas, Australia!

For the past few months, I’ve been working like a dog, trying to make that monies so my partner and I can take our beautiful Daewoo Nubria (a rather life changing purchase made while we were staying in Cairns in July) down the eastern coast (and maybe beyond).

In the mornings I work as a barista/kitchen hand at a small resort, serving the continental breakfast and making coffees. It’s an early morning, but at least I’m done by 11:30am and have the rest of the day for activities.

For personal reasons, I’ve recently left my second job bartending at QT Resort & Spa. I’ll miss the fast-paced atmosphere and mixing an endless procession of Mai Tais, Margaritas, Mojitos and Espresso Martinis, but at least it gives me a little more time to tend to my blog and start writing freelance!

When one door closes, another opens, right?

Anyway, despite crazy work schedules, there are lots to be thankful for living in this upscale vacation destination. We live in a beautiful flat just a minute’s walk to the beach and main strip, the weather is almost always perfect (leaving you unexpectedly craving for a rainy day), and we’re surrounded by endless ocean and rain forest.

In need of some “me time”, I spent a little while hiking barefoot (not the best idea in hindsight) along Port Douglas’ rocky shores in between the marina point and Four Mile Beach. Believe it or not, these pictures were all taken just minutes from the main strip.

I’d been told by multiple people that it was a great spot to see lots of sea turtles. SEA TURTLES? I couldn’t believe it either. I had to check it out.

Unfortunately I couldn’t spot any turtles, just a lot of speedy blue crabs.

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

Dinosaur Bones

Dinosaur Bones

Barefoot climbing

Barefoot climbing

It wasn’t the sunniest day, but sometimes the best photography happens when it’s overcast.

I’ll be heading back in a few days to try and take a look at those turtles. We’re leaving Port in a few weeks and the countdown is on!

Feed your curiosity xo,

-M

2 thoughts on “Rock Climbing in Port Douglas [Photography]

Leave a Reply

