Last week I had the pleasure of visiting four must-see locations in south-eastern Sicily: Agrigento, La Scala dei Turchi, Modica & Marzamemi. I’m updating as quickly as I can, but it’s probably just easier if you follow me to get all the posts right away!

I’ve seen plenty of incredible natural wonders in Sicily – from the rocky shores of Piste Ciclabili to the tranquil forests of Mount Etna – but nothing compares to La Scala dei Turchi (“Stair of the Turks”): a breathtakingly white, rocky cliff on the coast of Realmonte (near Agrigento).

The Stair of the Turks, Sicily | tofollowarrows.wordpress.com

La Scala dei Turchi: an incredible, off-the-beaten-path destination in Sicily.

#talkaboutunderrated

The marble-white rock against the turquoise-blue mediterranean sea is absolutely unforgettable. I had been to Agrigento’s famous Valley of Temples that morning, which were certainly wonderful, but the Stair of the Turks pushed them far out of my mind.

This unique rock formation resembles a gently melting iceberg ironically rising out of the mild Sicilian sea. And, being made of a sedimentary rock called marl, it is also surprisingly soft, causing it to even further resemble a giant, gently melting marshmallow.

You’ll need to take a scenic walk along the sandy cost before ascending the rock’s steep incline. It can get very hot because the white stone is very reflective – you’ll see lots of sunbathers take advantage of this feature – but don’t let that deter you, the rock is surprisingly easy to climb and the views from the top will take your breath away.

You can easily climb all the way across and go swimming or just hang out on the sandy beach on the other side.

The rock and its surrounding beaches could become very busy during July and August, but when I went in mid-May, it was relatively void of tourists.

There are a lot of stunning natural parks and reserves in Sicily, however La Scala dei Turchi is one of the most incredible and unusual natural sights I’ve ever seen.

Those of you who have seen the Turkish Stairs, what do you think of my photos? Am I doing it justice?

#solocosebelle

4 thoughts on “The Most Unreal Natural Attraction in Sicily: La Scala dei Turchi

  1. Love, love, love all the places you go! I was JUST writing my sis about this place a few weeks ago…that it is a place I REALLY want to see….great photos as always….I NEED to get there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

