Ciao a tutti 🙂

friend of mine from home recently asked me to describe what Sicily looked like. I’m embarassed to admit that I couldn’t do it. Perhaps it’s from constantly having to speak as slowly, simply and as clearly as possible so that the Italians understand me, but I simply could not find the adequate words to describe my surroundings – especially Siracusa, which is the city that I’m living in for six months.

white rocks, abandoned buildings, sparkling water

The following photographs come from a park near my house that I couldn’t name if you paid me.

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

I was told this is actually an old tuna fishery (is that a word?). It’s abandoned now and looks more like a haunted laboratory, but the locals hang around here on a sunny weekend day

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

Anyone who knows me will probably know this already, but yes, I did [stupidly] climb up the side of this clif instead of taking the path. Old habits die hard.

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

a sunday in siracusa: the city that always sleeps

If you are a nudist, a cloudy Sunday in Italy is the ideal time to air out your junk and take a walk.

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

I walk past this field all the time, and it never ceases to amaze me that someone can just leave their cows here. Smack dab in the middle of the city. I mean – someone could steal them right?

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

THIS is what Siracusa looks like 🙂

Maybe next week I’ll grow some and start taking pictures of people – you’ll just have to wait and see!

xo

14 thoughts on “A Walk through Siracusa

    • Thank you so much! Sicily is certainly a great place for hiking – so many great trails to explore. 🙂 My friend – a local – actually just told me the park is called Campetto Pippo di Natale, does that sound familiar??

      Like

Leave a Reply

