Ciao tutti!

The past week and a half certainly has been a whirlwind! So far I’ve been having a blast adjusting to my temporary life in Siracusa, Sicily, and loving all the associated challenges. Italian life has certainly been an adjustment, however I’m relishing every minute of it.

Deciding to start a travel blog has been a big debate of mine since … well probably since before I even knew I’d be living in Italy for 6 months. Since arriving here last week, I took my time experimenting with different themes, platforms, topics and photography. Now that I’m in my second week and slowly starting to develop a routine, I think keeping a blog would help me capture my thoughts and commemorate my experiences.

My first incentive for starting this blog is to publish my photography – which I am 100% aware I need to improve – but I learn by doing, so hopefully you’ll see a consistent improvement time goes on!

Secondly, I have a terrible memory. I usually can’t remember what I wore yesterday, let alone did last year – or several years ago. If a picture says a thousand words, this blog will be a much better memory-triggerer than a hand-written journal!

Anyway, this is how I see the world – solo cose belle – only beautiful things. Hope you like it!

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

 

the anfiteatro romano

Found at the entrance of the Parco Archeologico della Neapolis, mainland Siracusa’s greatest classical treasure, the 3rd-century Anfiteatro Romano was originally used for gladiatorial combats and horse races.

It costs between €5 and €10 to see the rest of the park, however it was a Sunday when I took these pictures and I decided I’d rather go on a day that wasn’t sweltering hot and drowning in American tourists.

SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

more sights and treatures around mainland siracusa

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

SAMSUNG CSC

That’s post #1, stay tuned for more coming soon!

Ciao ciao xo

4 thoughts on “Siracusa: Old world beauty

Leave a Reply

